The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
745 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to hire a couple of guys to work on our grain farm, I am tired of trying to hire local guys in Alberta. Currently I am paying $30-$35/hr for seasonal employees. I am a small farmer, so I can't hire guys full time, but to pay the current seasonal rates I am now for the quality of work I am getting out of local residents is ridiculous.
I want to pay $13-$15/hr for foreigners as they will crash my equipment and care just as little about my operation as the local over paid guys.

where do you guys get your workers from? which doesn't cost $500 just to look at a lousy resume like a certain site vendor here.

thanks!

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
You pay peanuts your not going to get good guys Im afraid, there are a lot of good guys who would love to come and spend a season working in Canada, but they will at least need a living wage, try Southern Impact, they have a website, based in the USA but I know they work with guys in Canada.

·
Registered
9,738 Posts
My custom cutter has south Africans and they have been talented, he cuts with another crew that has his local hoodlums and I would take the foreigners hands down, he said pay was around 4000$ a month because you have to pay him average state wage so we compete with oil, I give my local hands 15$ and they are barely worth 5 so I know what you mean, aint no farm help worth 30$ no way, the oil patch only pays qualified guys that why should we pay the loosers top dollar?

·
Registered
435 Posts
I find it fascinating what people are willing to pay for farm labor. I agree with SWfarmservice....no way is farm help worth 30....

And to say we need to pay a living wage is kinda ironic...until the last few years most of us were barely making a living wage....weren't if you count hours.