The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,062 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ground transportation to and from Vancouver is effectively severed due to the intense rainfall. It will be months before the damage to the Trans Canada and 11(?) other highways is/are repaired. It's also going into winter which is not the ideal time to be repairing highways and completely rebuilding bridges. Not to mention towns are flooded, Hope has no real method for food supply at this moment.

What do you think will happen in the next month here? Is our current supply shortage the beginning?

Edit: Forgot to mention the 2 rail lines that are cut as well.

·
Registered
667 Posts
I work in the electrical industry and getting some of the common 2 pole breakers has been a struggle in the Edmonton area. Now with those flooded houses, farm buildings and businesses and their electrical panels needing replacements, plus all the infrastructure back logs with rail and trucking that is going to happen due to bridges washed out. Hang onto your shorts people.

·
Registered
87 Posts
I think we all know the answer when a major port gets cut off from the rest of a country. Lets just hope they can fix it quickly and not to many people are hurt or killed. Very serious situation.

·
Premium Member
897 Posts
I’m sure it’s just another reason to raise prices. On the bright side that should cure the forest fire problem;)

Reactions: shmiffy

·
Registered
1,502 Posts
What about all the livestock feeding industry in the Fraser valley? I’d hate to be feeding chickens or dairy cows in the next few months