The Combine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a fairly new farmer, I started 7 years ago with a half section in east central sask. I took over land from a low input style guy (as his land was cheaper than average) and each year I've Been doin soil tests and have seen gradual residual fert increases, same as yield increases.

My goal here is to keep my yields on the rise as they are now flattening out so I'm here asking the professionals. My first year farming I've went from using an old cultivator with a bg airtank applying 70lbs of fertilizer (32 actual n) for cereals and hiring out my canola seeding as the cultivator didn't seem to work well with canola. First year yields were horrible wheat didn't hit 20 and canola went 17. Then on year 2 switched Over to using the cultivator to preband n and s with before seeding then hiring in a custom guy with a seedmaster to seed all crops. 1st year hiring in the seedmaster wheat went 23 and canola with 24. (Getting it custom done got expensive fast and could only apply 200lbs of fert product) (each year of doing this yield went up 2 -4 bpa as I'm guessing residual fert was there after a year or 2 of this style.

After year 5 I have now ended up with my own equipment. An old versatile tractor and a 8810 drill with single shoot openers and midrow nh3. In doing this change to nh3 I overcame the problem of only being able to apply 80n 30p 0 10 as I have switch to s10 / s15 dry fert at 130 lbs of product per acre and being able to apply 160 n 40 p 0 20 s. In doing this change and applying higher rates of fertilizer I almost got a 10 bushel an acre increase my 1st year and as seen thru my soil tests I'm seeing more residual fert. My average yield last fall was 35 canola and 45 wheat with 14.5 % protein. I'm not proud to say but I run a wheat / canola rotation as all my neighbors do also.