The Combine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thinking about switching from a JD 9650 to a 7010.

We have only ever had walkers so I would be a little lost on the setting of a rotary, is setting a rotary difficult or will this be an issue.

I have been reading a lot about them but I have zero hands on experience.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Setting a rotatory is very simple. You will be amazed how much better they are than a walker machine. I grew up with all walker machines, starting with the jd 7700 to the jd 9610. After that we went to a 2388. What a amazing difference!!! It was like night and day. To be fair, we also ran a 9660sts john deere last year. John Deere still has a lot of work to do to catch up with the 2388 and 10 series case. Plain and simple, the 2388 is very simple to work on and set. You will get a clean sample and be able to run in certain situations that your walker struggled in. This year we demoed a 7010. It blows anything I have ever ran completely out of the water! We ordered one so I hope everything works out. We will see.

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info Kansacutter, how much more production could we expect over the 9650 I was hoping for 30-40%.

·
Registered
187 Posts
I feel that you will for sure gain 30%. Depending on what type of head you run you could get the 40% possibly. Our wheat was very poor last year due to the late freeze, but we cut 30 bushel wheat with a 36ft draper at 6.3 mph. It wasn't even close to being at capacity. The rotor monitor didn't even show that there was any product in it. I could have went faster if I could have cut it off at a higher speed. Hope that helps.

·
Registered
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Wouldn't go any bigger than a 30' but we get a fairly heavy crop here. The wheat this year avged 75 bpa so 30' should be okay. Does Case make a good draper or what make work's the best for this machine?

·
Registered