The Combine Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All, I just installed a rebuilt bosch 100A injection pump on my L3 with the 670t engine. I took the old one out and put the new one in exactly the same way, all marks lined up exact. It takes ether to get it started, but it starts. And after it starts I can shut it off and it will start up without ether just fine. The other think it does is smoke really bad which it did not do before I installed this pump. I mean real bad. white smoke, smells like unburned diesel fuel. Any expert advice would be appreciated.
I think its probably timing.

·
Registered
422 Posts
I'm no expert but is there a chance that you are out a half a turn on the timing I have heard of some old IH running even if they were out of time on the pump

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
And that might be what it is. I had somebody else say the same thing. Thanks for the reply. When you say being out a half turn, what exactly does that mean? I'v heard I'm close on the timing since it does start. I just don't know which way to move the timing gear. Thanks.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I put it on the exact same way it came off. I aligned the pointer and timing mark on the pump up and the engine read 35 degrees BTDC. What your thoughts?

·
Registered
168 Posts
If I remember correctly it should be around 19 degrees BTDC. You may not be off 180 just advanced way to far.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I kind of thought 35 deg was too much. I could tell that somebody had been in there before adjusting the timing, maybe due to the old pump wearing out, I dont know just a thought. wish I had a service manual. If I might just try setting it around 19 deg this weekend and see what happens. Thanks for the reply.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·