The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a young farmer that is getting ready to graduate college and I am looking at buying a combine. I am currently running a 1660 and I do not know a whole lot about the newer combines. I was looking at getting a 8010 and was wondering if they are a good series to switch to or should I look at a different series? I also had heard that they were not a big enough series to run a 40FT draper and a 12 row corn head. Is this true? Any input would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm located in Southern Iowa Northern Missouri. Corn and soybeans. Yields for corn anywhere from 130-200 bushel corn 40-70 bushels beans. Do some of our crops and some custom work. Also might go with a neighbor on wheat harvest to help make payment. I have a case dealer within 15 miles of me. I haven't had a set price yet. Feeling things out for when combine prices come down this winter.

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have not heard particularly good things about the dependability of the 8010 series combines. In talking to a family friend who is Case IH to the grave he told me they were not particularly durable machines. He however runs a 7120 and loves it. On our farm we have an 8120, and it has been good to us. It's a 2011 model that we have run since 2012 with only the minor and expected problems. We began running CIH combines in 2001 with a 1666, upgraded years later to a 2388, and then to the 8120. All have been good machines. I definitely am a believer in CIH combines, but would tend to stay away from the 10 series machines.

·
Registered
72 Posts
How many acres are you going to be combining? Have you considered a green combine? A lot of 4420's or 6620's with heads out there for peanuts if you are willing to wrench on them. If there is a JD dealer nearby it might make sense.
Tractor house will be your friend when you are browsing and learning.

·
Registered
880 Posts