The Combine Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this on agtalk but didnt get a response so it was suggested that I try here. A leak has developed out of the front driveshaft yoke on our 4800 transmission. I got it partially disassembled today and discovered that there was some play where the yoke attaches to the transmission output shaft. The castle nut holding it on is loose however the cotter pin is still in place so it could not have turned off. Could there be something wrong internally in the transmission that allowed the shaft to come forward slightly and cause this to be loose? Also how does the yoke seal to the shaft? does the yoke have an oring in it?

·
Ken Adams
1,355 Posts
First, I have no experience with a failure on bottom shaft!

I would check end play of shaft and I am quessing here, if it is more than say 15 thou you may have a problem.

Bearings are adjusted with shims under caps, not with nut on yoke. Rear bearing must be adjusted first and then front bearing can be adjusted. There is 3 timkin bearings on that bottom shaft!

There is a o-ring under washer shown in your pic.

Nut is to be torque to 175ft-lbs

I hope onionfarmer or others adds there thoughts.

I will try and scan cross section of tran and that might help.

·
Registered
667 Posts
This happens not a big deal. Yes there is a O ring under the washer and with time the yoke can get loose and then it leaks. The yoke has nothing to do with the pre load on the bearing on the out put shaft. If the seal needs to be replaced make sure you carefully take off the plate and keep all the plastic shims put it back just like before. AND torque the nuts. Get a new O ring tighten the nut there is a torque can't remember the spec. You are suppose to run it up to torque and go to the next hole for the cotter pin.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·