The Combine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to a grain sorghum class yesterday, and they preached quite a bit about micro-nutrient requirements. What are you guys doing for application of these such nutrients. I have no experience with this at all so any help would be appreciated. We grow no-till and conventional wheat, soybeans and milo. Thanks

·
Registered
22 Posts
one very efficient way of getting any nutrient, including micro-nutrient into the plant is through a foliar application, it takes less product to make a larger difference. In order to make a difference long term you would need to start amending the soil not just fixing the immediate issue by foliar applying product. the soil applied nutrient can be placed and applied whenever you are over the field with your other fertilizers, for the most part either dry or liquid, you can get micro's to mix into your normal fertilizer blend.

·
Registered
363 Posts
Best,cheapest and most available form of micro nutrients is sulphates applied in liquid form down each Tyne on your bar.
To figure out what you need to apply you will need to do some soil tests, plant tests & have a good understanding or agronomist in detecting visually what is lacking by looking at your plants.
Before I started using traces you could look across the crop and you could easily pick the different soil types by the look of the crop.
This is what I use as a blanket rate
500g/ha zinc
500g/ha manganese
50g/ha copper
10g/ha Molly
400mls/ha impact
With 50L/ ha water
In one tank mix
& liquid nitrogen applied in the other tank.
Two different pumps and two different lines all the way to the tynes.
NEVER mix all products together you asking for trouble. Also you are able to variable rate your "N".
After using this brew the crop is more or less visually like a table top and the different soil types are not noticeable to the untrained eye.