The Combine Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everybody,

My name is Andrew and I am from Romania, as the title says I am new to JD-AMS and I have a few questions for which, hopefully, I would get some objective answers, not like those from my local dealer.

We recently bought a S680 and it has the GS3 display with SF2 activation on it, the whole AutoTrack-ready hydraulics + a SF3000 antenna also with SF2 on it.

The thing is that I would like to have similar systems on our tractors (two 8530) that we use for tilling but most important for seeding.

The local dealer has this "ATU" package 13.500 Euros (~ $18.00):
- GS3 Display with SF2 activation
- SF3000 antenna with SF2 activation
- a steering wheel

My questions to you are:
1. Is it worth buying the ATU package for the 8530 tractors or should I consider other GPS-guidance providers? If so, which are the ones you recommend and what are their prices? I only heard about Trimble and that was through this forum.

2. RTK seems very efficient, is there any other provider for RTK stations, or is the SF3000 and GS3 compatible with other RTK antennas other than that of JD because they charge 40.000 euros for one here.

·
Registered
1,668 Posts
If it does plug and play which I can't see any reason why it would not I would definitely keep with greenstar. Generic platforms don't seem to be a good solution and the GPS company will blame the tractor and deere will blame the gps company. Solutions to problems will be easier to fix if you are running what was designed to go in there in the first place. I have gs2 in an 8130. Most deeres will have greenstar.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
@farmerjones, the tractor is equipped with auto trac but it does not have the display and the antenna, so I was wondering if I should consider buying this equipment from JD or from other suppliers.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·