The Combine Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am still learning this 2588 but now we are in Durum and can't get the whitecaps out. I believe key is to get it thrashed first time thru but it just won't do it. Yesterday I bought 4 cover plates and covered ther front two concaves (small wire) but we still had the same amount of white caps and severe rotor loss so we took all but the front one out. We run the rotor up to 1150 and 0 cancave but then we got too many cracks and still white caps. closed cleaning sieve to try to retrn them but plugged returns. Dealer tech spent all yesterday afternoon with us with no success after trying everything.

What concerns me most is why did the cover plates change nothing and increase loss. It is almost like the whitecaps are escaping somewhere and not passing over the concaves.

Common knowledge would say, increase feed rate to get more pressure in rotor but then we just flow grain out the back and the monitor says its all coming from the rotor. The tech actually caught handfuls of grain off the spreader on the left side of the machine and it was all heavy plump kernels.

We were doing a 30' swath yielding about 45 bpa and very dry straw. To load the engine we had to travel 6 mph.

Their next idea is to put the seperator bars back in which we had to remove so the canola would move thru properly.

Any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
1,862 Posts
Wht variety of durum are do you have. We have three different kinds in and they all thresh differently. For example, Kyle durum thrashes very easy, lots of straw though, easy to keep everything to capactiy. AC Navigator thrashes the head easy, but being so short it is hard to keep the machin to capacity. Strongfield durum has relatively short straw, however grain is very difficult to separate from te heads.