The Combine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
2,855 Posts
I have no experience with Pommiers but hear good things about them. The only concern I have is with 132 feet. 132 feet makes no sense unless you are row cropping perhaps. Thats an extra 4 nozzle bodies and nozzles + 7 extra feet to deal with with zero advantage over 125. In a field 1/2 mile wide it takes 21 passes to cover with 132 feet which leave you ate the wrong end of the field so you have to come back making it 22 passes. 125 feet does the field in 22 spraying passes . This is why the K&S booms that I sell are custom made to 125 feet. However, we do not offer recirculation so if that is something you want, Pommier would be the ticket. I believe they are a well built boom from what I understand.

·
Registered
656 Posts
Your math on 125ft booms doesn’t add up on fields. Takes 22 passes on a square quarter section with 120ft. But the problem with most fields is nothing is square anymore in lots of places. Also if you have big rolling hills you may need a extra pass and have more then 160ac on a quarter.

I wouldn’t be spending a lot of money on a 4830 when you can buy a nice 4940 or 4045 with 120ft booms reasonable. A 4830 is the worst Deere sprayer we ever ran.

·
Registered
421 Posts
132' is exactly 20 passes on a half mile width; and that is with no road allowance, the full 2640'. Not many fields around here that big.
Must be the reason why they picked 132' and not some other number.

·
Registered
537 Posts
132 feet makes no sense regardless. Nozzles are typically on 20" spacing. You're not gonna have .2 of a nozzle. It's a 133.3333333 foot boom. (or a 131.666666 if it only has 79 nozzles, which I doubt) I've never understood why people will call a boom on 20" spacing with 60 nozzles 100 feet and a boom with 72 nozzles on 20" spacing 120 feet but then come out with a boom with 80 nozzles is suddenly 132 feet...

·
Registered
421 Posts