The Combine Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This might sound silly but I am a bit new to harvesting and agnostic in a way so my question might sound out of place. But, is there a reason why more and more combines I'm seeing have rear tires facing the "wrong way"? And I see that on both 2WD and 4WD machines, with and w/o front track system too!? Even a brand new ones, from factory at certain shows I went to were set up that way. Why?

·
Registered
524 Posts
Not sure exactly but I've heard it gives better longivety on bitumen. Maybe also to have better traction when reversing out of mud?

·
Registered
739 Posts
It's so when you get bogged you have a better chance of getting out.
I think they do wear better for highway travel as well but you're doing well to wear out a set of tyres on a header.

·
Super Moderator
4,681 Posts
You can wear tires out on a combine?

Supposed to reduce wear on the tread bars.
Makes sense on 2WD, I think it's dumb on 4WD and even dumber on a track unit.:rolleyes:

·
Registered
653 Posts
I was always told it was for better steering. Lets it bite on different points.

I have always heard too that when a tire is backwards the material is pulled under the tire and gives it lift. So it migh help some with compaction?

·
Registered
2,263 Posts
The last time we changed the tires I put them on facing forward, just because I thought it was prettier. I don't have RWD, but I can't say I've noticed any difference.

·
Premium Member
5,233 Posts
With the older bias ply, running them backwards on drive wheels reduces road wear. Used to be common place to reverse them before roading, if it could be easily done such as on a combine for any great distance, but with the advent of the newer tires and rubber compounds, something you just don't see done anymore.