The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

A close up of the grass seed going into the pickup front.

These shots were taken on my old trusty camera & scanned (so not the digital quality that I have seen on here, so my apologies in advance),

Regards,

TC.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Great pics tascowboy. Awesome to see some New Zealand on the forum. Your profile says that you are from Aus? were you just visiting? Where in Mid Canterbury were they taken?
I'm an Ag student at Lincoln Uni just South of Christchurch.
Just out of interest, what did they crop yield like?

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi NZ Farmer. Yes I was just visiting for work purposes (I am from Tasmania, Australia). The pics were taken on a guys place, think his last name was Watson (a fairly big operator) but cant remember the exact district name, was around the Ashburton area though.

The guy I was with thought the crop would go between 2.5 -3 tonnes / ha which was most impressive, as our ryegrass crops here yield between 1.25 -1.75 tonnes / ha (2 tonnes is the exception).

Regards,

TC.

·
Registered
619 Posts
Interesting tascowboy. There is Rye grown here in Ontario as well but it is direct cut with headers 20-30ft wide versus windrowing.How wide is the pickup head 16ft?
The rye grown here is used for rotation after Tobacco and is fertilized, yields range from 1.25-3.5 tonnes/ha depending on variety and the other usual agronomic factors. BTW it sprouts here too.

·
Registered
668 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Could be Redhat, I am not sure. Was just in the paddock at the time, so decided to take some pics (didnt get a chance to chat with the driver unfortunately).

Interesting about the way you harvest; in the UK i believe that they direct harvest & dry theirs, usually causes problems in the combine, with the moisture content being so high.