The Combine Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So our farm bought 3 S680s in the past 2 years. Upgrades from 9770s, all with 8 row chopping. I can't get the loss out the back to satisfy me and I assume the reason is my head isn't large enough for the machine? We run a 16 row multiple planter strip til system and a 12 row head wouldn't work. Would I be better to buy a 16 row geringhoff rota disc? (Been wanting a rota disc for awhile anyway. Wondering if anyone was running one and if they like it. It's a 2012 680. Also curious if I should put in the CM Welding concave insert kit as well? Thanks guys.

·
Registered
4,799 Posts
I would expect your loss issues will be worse as you will likely pushing the sieve and the rotor or it's limits with the 16 row. I got to run the Deere 16 row on a s690 a couple years ago and loved the head. The combine did have higher losses than I am used to but I'm not an expert in setting a jd combine. Corn was 130-140 bushels 17% moisture.

·
Premium Member
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
There are a couple local farmers who have bought geringhoff and really like them, I like the combination. Not necessarily need a geringhoff would still have interest in a deere. I have been told by many people that I need a larger head. Just wanting feedback on if a 16 row will actually work or not in high yielding corn.

·
Registered
37 Posts