The Combine Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
879 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have Sprayed with glyphosate or reglone and straight cut in the past but still means you could be out in combine in October or November.
The Flax bolls are ready Early but straw IS Not. Could easily be stripped a month Earlier.
But do I have to have a disc drill or will my 10 inch spaced flexicoil work??

·
Registered
310 Posts
I have no experience with flax, but I can tell you my 12 inch Flexicoil drill would not go through stripped spring wheat stubble. Not even close.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Think a hoe drill would be a disaster, waiting on green stems is a pain, swath or direct cut is still the way to go I think

·
Registered
4,335 Posts
I've got a neighbor that swathes his flax. Always does it early when the straw is green and the boils are ready. The green straw actually chops not too badly, believe it or not. Seems to cut up way easier than dry ripe straw.

·
Registered
569 Posts
exactly what i found, but conditions have to be right, low humidity really helps! A conventional combine now thats the best answer to your problem!

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
Have Sprayed with glyphosate or reglone and straight cut in the past but still means you could be out in combine in October or November.
The Flax bolls are ready Early but straw IS Not. Could easily be stripped a month Earlier.
But do I have to have a disc drill or will my 10 inch spaced flexicoil work??
Any time I’ve waited,I always wished in hind sight that I would have just went out with the stripper Header and got it done.

·
Registered
4,335 Posts
@seedman was talking a while back about running a disc over the stripper stubble to mix it into the dirt a bit and spraying the ground with 28-0-0 and some bacterial stuff. By spring he's found that the straw is actually decomposed like wheat stubble and you can till and seed normally into it. This really intrigues me.

·
Registered
174 Posts