The Combine Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I am currently looking at purchasing a R72 with a 36 foot McDon header. This is way too big for my land. 24 or 25 is the max I could go. I don't know very much about Gleaners as I have been using a JD95 for the last 20 years and I only crop 200 acres per year. Is it possible to find a 24 or 25 foot header to suit the R72? Did Gleaner make that size? Would a header off a N series fit straight on? I don't have much money to invest as I only harvest 200 acres a year max.
Thanks for your advice Scott.

·
Registered
479 Posts
The earlier 300 series header you could get in 24 foot and then they later went to 25 foot in the 400 series I believe. I don't remember all the series numbers but we have had 24, 25, 27, and 30 foot in the fixed cutterbar headers.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The earlier 300 series header you could get in 24 foot and then they later went to 25 foot in the 400 series I believe. I don't remember all the series numbers but we have had 24, 25, 27, and 30 foot in the fixed cutterbar headers.
Thanks for the help. Were those headers on an n series rotary? Would they fit straight on an r72 do you think?
:)

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
Give Equipment Services a ring at Condobolin 02 68954222, they may have something or Mckees at Elmore Vic. For what reason is a 36' to big

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Give Equipment Services a ring at Condobolin 02 68954222, they may have something or Mckees at Elmore Vic. For what reason is a 36' to big
Thanks for your help, I am waiting for equipment services to ring me back, I rang them yesterday morning. I am up in the tablelands near Inverell. We have small rocky paddocks with farm over or roll over banks. Even 30 foot is too big. Will the fronts off the N series fit on an r72? Currently I can only find one 27 foot front at a wrecker for sale.

·
Registered
180 Posts