The Combine Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 9660STS and this is my first time to use a rotary in wheat. It is doing a good job except for chaff/hulls in the tank. There is no straw, just the seed hulls. I have a 630F header running from 3 to 4.2 mph in 80-90 bu. wheat.

I have the option which automatically sets the combine to the preferred settings. I looked in the book to find the recommended ranges for adjustment and they are very narrow. Are these ranges accurate enough that I need to stay within them??

I know in some respects the rotary is different on your approach to setting them. Any experienced STS men have any tips which could help me? Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
129 Posts
hb,
If conditions are bone dry, I agree with harvester, open up and slow down the rotor, it could be overloading the sieves. If its tougher going, I run the rotor all the way up and run the fan as high as you can, before you start to lose it out the back. We also cover some of the grates at the back. It seems to carry some of the lighter stuff out, that your talking about. We harvest hard red, I don't no what your harvesting.

·
Registered
2,428 Posts
80-90 bushel wheat, 30'head on a 9660 at 3-4mph, I would say that you are running pretty fast ground speed. How much is running out the back if any?
The rule of thumb for a rotor is - rotor as slow as possible, concave as open as possible, fan as fast as possible, and seives as open as you can so air flows through it and keeps the mat suspended. If you are getting what we call white caps I would install filler plates on the concave so the material and machine has another chance to thrash the caps off the seed. Also keep the machine full of crop, I was always taught the you want the crop to thrash most of the seeds out and the concave is mostly for the tough thrashing seeds.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #5