The Combine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently applied for a different job and think they are low balling me on wages. I was just curious if some of you could comment on what you think I would be worth an hour. I grew up on a dairy farm, so I have been operating equipment since I was 10 years old. When I turned 16 I started helping another dairy farmer. They had 70 cows and 700 acres of ground. I did chores, hauled manure, helped with baling and chopping hay. When I was 20 I went to work for a 4000 acre grain farm. I planted crops, repaired machinery and semis, drove semi, helped with irrigation of crops, detassled seed corn, and helped with harvest. At the age of 28 I went to a Chevy dealership as a mechanic. I have been here 6 years now and haven't moved up to a tech spot yet. I am a GM certified technician. I have an associates degree in automotive technology. I probably have 500,000 miles of semi driving experience. I am a hard worker, dependable, honest, no run ins with the law, no tattoos or smoking. The job I applied for is for an excavating company. They are looking for someone to drive trucks, run equipment, and general labor. They do almost all of their own repairs. They want to pay me $15.50 an hour with insurance. $16.50 without insurance. If anyone could comment I would appreciate it. Sorry so long on post.

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
A lot of starting wages for production (factory) and warehouse stuff around here is anywhere from $12 to $15, depending on the place, but mostly on the low end. A lot of jobs aren't paying what one might think they should be anymore. In my area anything over $20 is "high pay".

·
Registered
161 Posts
Not in your area but we can't find help period. Yes I don't think wages you are offered are enough.

·
Registered
445 Posts
At Regina they have billboards up looking for mechanics offering $40 an hour. Long way from where you are but people move everyday.

·
Registered